#TryOutJune

We are really lucky in these parts to be surrounded by thriving local businesses. Yes, we have our fair share (or more than fair share perhaps when it comes to Italian eateries in Reigate?) of chain stores and restaurants but we have some amazing independently run businesses and we really should be supporting them. 

3 or 4 years ago, Mr SHC and I spent a weekend in the New Forest. Being used to bustling Reigate we were horrified by the number of empty shops on the High Streets and suddenly realised the real effect of the economic downturn and how lucky we were to live in a part of the world which managed to carry on going, apparently unlike many other places. Part of the reason for that though is undoubtedly the incredible hard work of those people running fab businesses locally.  They deserve our patronage and our support, hence #TryOutJune.

The idea, from Tweeter @EarlswoodStJohn, is simple. During June just try somewhere new.  As long as it’s an indie,  give it a go and share your experiences with the rest of us so we can all try as many of our local businesses as possible. You don’t need to boycott your favourite chain coffee shop, just give somewhere else a go, just once. You may be pleasantly surprised.

As indeed was I when, with half an hour or so to spare in Redhill today (which is definitely much improved now all of the works have finished) I started my #TryOutJune journey.  Instead of making my usual trip to Costa for a coffee, I paid a visit to West Central, opposite The Harlequin.

I’m pretty fussy about my coffee. I like it hot and strong and full of rich, smooth coffee flavours. More often than not I’m disappointed, usually by the strength (or lack of), but often, even with an extra shot of espresso, by that nasty, sludgy flavour that makes me pull a face a bit like this 😫. Sadly, this applies far more often at independent coffee shops than at the larger chains. If you don’t believe me, find an Aussie and ask their view of English coffee. Cover your ears if you’re of a delicate constitution as the reply may offend.

It wasn’t without trepidation therefore that I walked into what is actually an amazing space.  Think New York industrial loft-living. It’s urban. It’s cool. It’s inviting. It’s orange. It looks good. It’s a much larger venue than I’d expected which means there’s space for several huge, super-comfy, leather sofas. There’s also a wide range of alternative seating options so everyone should be able to find somewhere that suits.  Don’t assume from that that it’s all mis-matched and higgledy-piggledy, it’s absolutely not. I arrived just before the lunchtime rush which was in full swing by the time I left so it was definitely good timing as I didn’t have very long.

It turns out West Central is a non-profit venture, owned by the Christ Central Church. I had no idea that this was the case until I stepped inside and read the info-board while I was waiting to be served.  Another fascinating fact – all the stunning lamps were handmade. It’s pretty impressive.

My usual black americano ordered,  I succumbed to the deliciously inviting display of cakes.  On offer today was a white chocolate fudge cake, a passion fruit drizzle cake and a carrot cake.  There’s also lots of lovely looking  croissants, cookies and a selection of sandwiches and flatbreads which looked really good,  although I stuck with the cake, which came home with me to have as a tea-time treat. It was delicious: Super moist, packed full of carrots (it counts as 1 of my 5-a-day, right?) dried fruit and crunchy walnuts with a yummy layer of tangy cream cheese frosting. And the coffee was pretty good too. The regular size mug was, Goldilocks style, just right. It was tasty. It was strong. It was hot. And it was made quickly and efficiently by the friendly crew while my cake was packaged up for me to take home with me.

All in all, I’ve been won over by this great venture and I’ll be back. As well as teas and coffees they also offer smoothies and milkshakes and with all the space available it seems to be catering well for families as well as professionals with just a few minutes to spare.

So that’s my first #TryOutJune experience. Where have you tried and how was it? Don’t forget to let us all know so we can all make the most of where we live.

For more info, West Central’s website can be found here.

Leave a comment